IG’s Peace Blog

Peace and its many aspects

IG’s first post on peace

Welcome to my new blog! I plan to be writing about “everything and anything” relating to what I think of as the problem and challenge of peace. I have taught (and continue to teach) courses related to peace and I have published articles about peace and related topics, so I guess some academic-speak will creep in here from time to time. However, I am now becoming convinced that while there are many dimensions to peace, it is not, fundamentally, a complicated subject. Rather, it is, or should be accessible to everybody since it concerns everybody; and I hope what I discuss will be just that– accessible. For instance, have you ever wondered why, if just about everyone would rather live in peace, there is so much war and violence? To me this is one of the “big ones”…right up there with “why are we here”, “what is time”, etc…:-) As you might expect the question has been asked at many times, in many cultures, and answers vary, and keep evolving. Just to hint at some interesting things that have been learned in this area: human nature does not seem hard wired to behave like this. We’ll get back to this, but for now I leave you with the words of John Lennon (I think)…”Why in the world are we here? Surely not to live in hate and fear”

BTW…please leave comments if you feel like it…let’s get some discussions going!

July 14, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

