IG’s Peace Blog

Peace and its many aspects

Just thinking back…

It’s election day in the U.S.A., and yours truly is non-partisan (which is not to say I don’t have a personal preference).  Still, the fact that there is a good chance that someone of African extraction may be elected President, and that it might just as well have been a woman as him, makes me think back on all that I’ve witnessed in my lifetime (there’s a point to this, I promise…and sorry if this sounds a bit like a certain Billy Joel song 🙂 )

John Glen going into space (heck I can remember the furor over Sputnik).

The Cuban missile crisis (and the look of worry on my father’s face after Kennedy’s speech).

Where I was when Kennedy was shot (it seemed like our Shop teacher was blaming us, he was so angry and upset)…and the assassinations of Bobby and MLK.

Later, there was the counter culture and, yes, I was at Woodstock  (I know what you are are thinking…sorry…”don’t ask, don’t tell” 🙂 )

The end of the Cold War

…and so much more, and so much more…

When I get in this kind of mood I often think of the Paul Simon song “The Boy in the Bubble”.  I’d heard it many times, and then one day I think I “got” it, and since then the refrain is often in my head:

“These are the days of miracle and wonder,
This is the long distance call,
The way the camera follows us in slo-mo
The way we look to us all,
The way we look to a distant constellation
That’s dying in a corner of the sky,
These are the days of miracle and wonder
And don’t cry baby don’t cry
Don’t cry”

…and now a “black” man may become President!  Even if he doesn’t, he got this far.  Even if his government is not a major success, still, it happened.  The symbolic importance is unmeasurable.

Sooooooo….if all this, why not peace?  Real peace, positive peace…in these days of “miracle and wonder”, this perhaps most basic need can surely be fulfilled.  The only real questions are how long will it take, and what will be the cost.

November 4, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. […] was the fortieth anniversary of the (original) Woodstock Music and Arts Festival.  As I mentioned some time back I was there.   Well, I wasn’t planning to mention the anniversary (though I think it has […]

    Pingback by It was forty years ago « IG’s Peace Blog | August 21, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

