IG’s Peace Blog

Peace and its many aspects

(Just) a touch of Michael Jackson

Work with me here  🙂 .   Despite all the comparisons, MJ was much more of a Global Citizen than “the King”, and if you take the time to read and think about the lyrics of some of his songs (I said “some”) you will see this.   Personally, I was very impressed with “Black or White” when it came out.  The video was very well done, and the lyrics had an important message about racial equality and understanding….and more.

First, consider the neatly put racial message:

“I Said If
You’re Thinkin’ Of
Being My Baby
It Don’t Matter If You’re Black Or White

I Said If
You’re Thinkin’ Of
Being My Brother
It Don’t Matter If You’re
Black Or White”

…which also has a little bite:

“Don’t Tell Me You Agree With Me
When I Saw You Kicking Dirt In My Eye”

…and the refrain over and over again:

“It’s Black, It’s White
It’s Tough For You
To Get By
It’s Black , It’s White…”

But for somebody who teaches about world affairs and is interested in peace and conflict resolution, the part I really like is the rap sequence by LTB:

“Protection
For Gangs, Clubs
And Nations
Causing Grief In
Human Relations
It’s A Turf War
On A Global Scale
I’d Rather Hear Both Sides
Of The Tale
See, It’s Not About Races
Just Places
Faces
Where Your Blood
Comes From
Is Where Your Space Is
I’ve Seen The Bright
Get Duller
I’m Not Going To Spend
My Life Being A Color
” (emphasis added; full lyrics available here )

Great Stuff!  I even used to quote this in some of my graduate classes!

So, in all the “sound and fury” about MJ’s passing, try to keep in mind that he was, at times, a keen observer of the world around him, its ills and its potential for positive change.

July 2, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. we all condolence over death Jacko …

    Comment by lina yuliana | July 3, 2009 | Reply

  2. I think your link is wrong for LTB. The Rapper you are linking to would have been 11 in 1992.

    Comment by Dean | July 3, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

