IG’s Peace Blog

Peace and its many aspects

Dona Nobis Pacem

When I started this blog over a year ago, I had the impression that there weren’t so many bloggers focusing on peace.  Overall, that was probably true, but I have found more and more blog-oriented actions for peace.  One interesting one is Mimi’s Dona Nobis Pacem Blogblast for peace initiative. .  This started in 2006 as Mimi explains:

“When I sat down to write a blog post in October 2006, I didn’t expect it to birth a movement. Or did I? But that is exactly what happened. Frustrated and bewildered by the state of affairs in our world, I offered a challenge to my readers on my blog, Mimi Writes: What can we do? I asked. I tossed out an idea: Let’s all write a blog post about peace. And while we’re at it, let’s make some noise. Sign your name on this blue globe graphic, write a post about what peace means to you, title it “Dona Nobis Pacem” which is Latin for Grant Us Peace and publish. One day. One voice. One subject.” I wondered and asked……What would happen if we all said the same thing on the same day? I’ll tell you what happened.

We had a movement on our hands.

And before I knew it, there were peace globes everywhere. My dream is still to see those Latin words on every blog and every Facebook page and beyond – that vision has not changed; but what I’m finding in the ranks of blog pages across our world is far more eloquent than mere numbers can convey. I read them all. Mothers wanted no war for their sons and daughters. Fathers wanted prosperity for their families to flourish. Children scribbled paint-by-number love on blue graphics. Soldiers found no victory in misery. People held court with their adversaries for one day of truce talkin’. A dialogue began. Passion prevailed. Anger found words. Angst bowed to hope.
Diversity stood up to be counted. Tolerance spoke.
People wrote peace.”

There is a gallery of some of the past peace globes here .  You will find many nice images like this:

This year Novemer 5th is the day.

You too can have a peace globe.

IGbarb says:  Dona Nobis Pacem!

October 26, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized | ,

1 Comment »

  1. I particpated last year and this year. This year I have a Peace video up on YoutTube as well… with a twist.

    I love your blog. 🙂

    Comment by Michelle | November 8, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

